Standing Councils

Chamber Ambassadors

Member volunteers who are committed to welcoming new members, explaining benefits, and assisting with introductions at the chamber’s networking and social functions.

Military Affairs Council

Serves as a vital link between active duty military and the region, helping organize the Chamber’s annual Military Appreciation Breakfast, Service Person of the Month program, and military discount program.

Education Council

The Chamber’s Education Council strives to bring our community and schools together by acting as a liaison between the business and education communities. The committee provides volunteers the opportunity to connect with one or more schools within eastern CT.

Employers Guide to Engaging the Upcoming STEM Workforce

Legislative Affairs Council

Meets to discuss legislative concerns and to propose legislation to grow and promote the business community. The Chamber’s lobbyist works closely with this committee to set its yearly agenda. Jay B. Levin Government Relations Consulting, LLC, monitors the legislative process in Hartford and advises the Chamber on proposed legislation that, if enacted, will have an impact on business in CT

Event Committees

Citizen of the Year Committee

A committee charged with planning the Citizen of the Year celebration. Citizen of the Year honors an outstanding person selected from the region who has made significant contributions to eastern Connecticut. The committee membership is by invitation only.

Holiday Gala Committee

Responsible for coordinating the Holiday Gala/Auction which aims to raise funds to benefit the Chamber’s Foundation.

Eastern CT’s Premier Home Show Committee

Made up of representatives from the Chamber and the Home Builders and Remodelers Association of Eastern Connecticut this committee organizes the annual Home Show which showcases local vendors. This committee is not available to join.

William Crawford Distinguished Service Award Committee

The William Crawford Distinguished Service Award is periodically presented to an outstanding member of the community who has contributed to the quality of life in our region as well as to his or her neighbors. The committee membership is by invitation only.