Get to know the region.

Eastern Connecticut consists of two counties, Windham in the north and New London in the south. The region is bordered in the east by the state of Rhode Island; Massachusetts in the north; and in the south by Long Island Sound.

Within these two counties are the following municipalities: Ashford, Bozrah, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Colchester, Columbia, Coventry, East Lyme, Eastford, Franklin, Griswold, Groton (town), Groton City, Hampton, Killingly, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Lyme, Mansfield, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Norwich, Old Lyme, Plainfield, Pomfret, Preston, Putnam, Salem, Scotland, Sprague, Sterling, Stonington, Thompson, Union, Voluntown, Waterford, Willington, Windham, and Woodstock, with many other boroughs and villages in between.

With a combined population approaching 400,000 these two counties comprise 11 percent of Connecticut’s total population and 23 percent of Connecticut’s total land area. Their combined median household income is about $66,000. Residents of Connecticut are usually referred to as Nutmeggers but may also be referred to as Connecticuters, although this term is seldom used. Connecticut is also known as The Land of Steady Habits.

For demographics and economic data by town or statewide, visit

Town and City Videos

If your town has a video that you would like to see here, please send a YouTube or Vimeo link to

Groton, CT

Norwich, CT

Waterford, CT